• Type: Publication series
  • Date: 5/7/2013

Switzerland –Transitional Work Permit Restrictions on EU-8 and EU-17 Nationals Approved 

KPMG in Switzerland reports that the Federal Council has decided not only to adhere for another year to the work permit restrictions on EU-8 nationals as already invoked per May 2012, but also to apply such restrictions to EU-17 nationals for a one-year term. The Federal Council recently announced that it will again invoke the safeguard clause (“Ventilklausel”) which allows Switzerland, if certain immigration numbers are reached, to unilaterally re-introduce quotas for persons from the EU-8 countries and EU-17 countries up until May 31, 2014.


Subscribe to receive Flash International Executive Alert in your inbox

Subscribe now

Flash Alerts Region list

To view Flash Alerts by country, click on a region. In the country list on the right, click on a country name.



Flash Alert home


Global Mobility home