EU Financial Transaction Tax draft directive 

European Commission proposal for a Council Directive implementing enhanced cooperation in the area of financial transaction tax. COM(2013) 71 final. Issued Brussels, 14.2.2013.

In February 2013 the European Commission issued a proposal for a tax on financial transactions (FTT) under the enhanced cooperation procedure in response to a request to adopt such a tax by the following eleven EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Spain.


The text of the proposed directive can be accessed below online by clicking on the link to the respective part. Selected references in the text to other EU legislation can be accessed from the main text by clicking on the highlighted reference.

Source: adapted from the original documents (PDF 186 KB) © European Union, 1995-2013. Responsibility for the adaptation lies entirely with KPMG International.

Share this

Share this

Follow us

follow us on Twitter
follow us on Linkedin

Overview of taxes on financial transactions within the EU

An overview of nine EU Member States understood to be currently applying a national form of FTT and of the EU proposal for an eleven Member State FTT.

KPMG's EU Tax Centre

EU direct tax practice
KPMG member firms have set up an EU Tax Centre to help you understand the implications of EU tax law and how it can help your business.