• Type: KPMG information
  • Date: 6/24/2016

East Africa Regional Cooperation in Oil and Gas 

Download Now
PDF files require Adobe Reader to view

The history of regional cooperation in East Africa


The history of regional cooperation in East Africa is quite long and fascinating. As early as 1917, Uganda and Kenya had a customs union arrangement which Tanzania (then Tanganyika) joined in 1927. Over time, regional integration efforts in East Africa have changed form –for instance, there was a time when integration took the form of a common service organization where Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania shared a common banking regulator, railway, postal service, airline, university system, and other services. Today, regional integration is governed by a treaty signed by member states which include Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, and most recently South Sudan. According to the treaty, the objective of the East Africa Community (EAC) is “ develop policies and programmes aimed at widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in political, economic, social and cultural fields, research and technology, defence, security and legal and judicial affairs, for their mutual benefit.” It makes sense for economic cooperation to drive regional integration because together, the EAC member states together with Ethiopia represent a single market of nearly 280 million people and have a combined GDP of nearly USD 220B with an average GDP growth rate of 5.3% in 2014...Read more