United Kingdom

Details

  • Service: Advisory, Risk Consulting
  • Type: Business and industry issue, Event, KPMG information
  • Date: 01/02/2013

Performance Assured - IT Internal Audit Conference 2012 

KPMG’s IT Internal Audit Conference 2012 addressed today's hot topics that promise improved performance, agility and clarity of insight to weather the economic uncertainty and to position your organisation competitively for the future.

Executive Summary
Download Now
PDF files require Adobe Reader to view

Financial Services

Jon Dowie
Jon Dowie

Partner, Technology Risk Consulting 
KPMG LLP

020 7311 5295 | jon.dowie@kpmg.co.uk 

 

Michael Elysee
Michael Elysee

Partner, Technology Risk Consulting 
KPMG LLP

020 7311 5429 | michael.elysee@kpmg.co.uk 


Ameet Sharma
Ameet Sharma

Director, IT Internal Audit

KPMG LLP

020 7694 4073 | ameet.sharma@kpmg.co.uk

Corporates

Mohammad Rahman 

Mohammed Rahman

Partner, Technology Risk Consulting
KPMG LLP

0121 232 3301 | mohammed.rahman@kpmg.co.uk

 

Gerry Penfold

Gerry Penfold

Partner, Technology Risk Consulting 
KPMG LLP

020 7311 8489 | gerry.penfold@kpmg.co.uk

Andrew Shefford
Andrew Shefford

Director, IT Internal Audit 
KPMG LLP

020 7694 5507 | andrew.shefford@kpmg.co.uk

Public Sector

Keith Bannister 

Keith Bannister

Partner, UK Head of  Technology Risk Consulting, Infrastructure, Government & Health

KPMG LLP

020 7311 6558 keith.bannister@kpmg.co.uk

David Timms 

David Timms

Senior Manager, IT Internal Audit

KPMG LLP

020 7311 6618 david.timms@kpmg.co.uk

 

Embarrassing and costly data leakage, cyber attacks on critical national infrastructure and public systems failure – just some of the uncomfortable reading we have seen in 2012. On top of this, organisations are having to implement aggressive cost-cutting in response to the most challenging economic climate seen in generations. Against this backdrop, it is clear that Internal Audit has a crucial role to play in helping Boards and Senior Management better understand and manage the risks their organisations face.

 

KPMG’s recently published Executive Summary of the Autumn 2012 IT Internal Audit Conference summarises three key areas of discussion:

 

  • Big Data and Analytics – take control of your data
  • Cloud – from  hype to reality
  • Cyber Threats – get used to it, you are being targeted

 

IT Internal Audit will be expected to play its part to provide proactive assurance to help their organisations prevent these sorts of headlines from occurring, as well as deal with rising threats of cyber attacks and loss of sensitive data. They will also be required to assure the systems and data aspects of initiatives to prepare for and comply with the changing technology landscape and with greater pressure on costs, audit leaders need to be prepared as business users seek to embrace new ways of working, ranging from the use of social media, cloud computing and 'bring your own device'.

 

Share this

Share this