New Zealand

Government 

Government Services

 

KPMG understands the unique nature of the public sector and the challenges it faces, especially around delivering better public services within tight financial constraints. We work closely with agencies across the public sector spectrum (from government departments to state-owned enterprises) providing advice and assurance to solve problems and deliver results.


What we do
Our government practice includes more than 100 Partners and professionals who possess the knowledge, insight and awareness of pertinent legislation and regulatory implications needed to address the special needs of the public sector.

Our Advisory professionals provide a broad array of services to help government agencies establish sustainable improvements to performance, operations and quality of service. These include regulatory and compliance support; review and evaluation; risk management; internal audit; programme/project assurance; strategic planning; financial and budget management; advice on infrastructure, technology and security services; forensic technology services, and more. We also undertake a range of financial audits on behalf of the Office of the Auditor-General.

Our Services

KPMG offers a range of services to help government organisations improve productivity and the quality of services they provide; help generate increased value for money; and assist with performance-related issues and challenges.

 

All of Government Consultancy Services and our Experts

BUSINESS PERFORMANCE

Business performance services

Business effectiveness

People and change

Strategy and performance

Independent quality assurance

Major project advisory

 
Our government team

Jack Carroll Jack Carroll

Partner - Consulting
jackcarroll@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4516

Simon Hunter Simon Hunter

Principal - Performance Consulting
simonhunter@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5811

Grant Riley Grant Riley

Director - Advisory
grantriley@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4878

Mike Bazett Mike Bazett

Director - Government Advisory
mikebazett@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4801

Richard Catto Richard Catto

Director - Advisory
rcatto@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4851

Gina Barlow Gina Barlow

Director - IT Advisory
gbarlow@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4801

Harriet Dempsey Harriet Dempsey

Associate Director - Advisory
harrietdempsey@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4883

   
INTERNAL AUDIT, RISK & COMPLIANCE

Risk Management

  • Policy and Framework Advice
  • Risk Identification and Assessment
  • Risk Management Maturity

Internal Audit & Advisory Services

  • Internal Audit Outsourcing & Co-sourcing
  • Efficiency and Effectiveness Reviews, and Performance Audit
  • Contract Compliance
  • Probity Audit

Fraud & Forensics

  • Investigations
  • Bribery & Corruption
  • Integrity Line
  • Forensic Technology

Privacy

  • Policy Advisory
  • Privacy Impact Assessments
  • Privacy Maturity Assessments

Health and Safety

 
Our government team

Souella Cumming Souella Cumming

Partner - Head of Government
smcumming@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4519

Risk Management
Internal Audit & Advisory Services
Fraud & Forensics
Privacy
Health and Safety

David Sinkins David Sinkins

Director - Advisory dsinkins@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4827

Risk Management
Internal Audit & Advisory Services

Chris Budge Chris Budge

Director - Forensics
cbudge@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4832

Fraud & Forensics

Erica Miles Erica Miles

Contractor - Health & Safety
emiles@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 363 3664

Health and Safety

CORPORATE FINANCE

Government Corporate Finance

Infrastructure

Business Modelling

 
Our government team

Troy Newton Troy Newton

Partner - Corporate Finance
twnewton@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4710

Government Corporate Finance
Infrastructure
Business Modelling
Adrian Wimmers Adrian Wimmers

Partner - Head of
Infrastructure & Projects
awimmers@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4681

Government Corporate Finance Infrastructure Business Modelling
Jesse Phillips Jesse Phillips

Director - Corporate Finance
jessephillips@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4648

Infrastructure
Thomas Park Thomas Park

thomaspark@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4823

Business Modelling
IT ADVISORY

CIO Advisory Services

Implementation Services

IT Risk

Analytics

IT Security

  • Security Advisory Services
  • Technology Risk Management
 

Our government team

Chandan Ohri Chandan Ohri

Partner - IT Advisory
cohri@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5857

Philip Whitmore Philip Whitmore

Partner - IT Advisory
pwhitmore@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5931

Brent Chalmers Brent Chalmers

Director - IT Advisory
brentchalmers@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4818

Rowan Teh Rowan Teh

Director - IT Advisory
rowanteh@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5314

Sean Aitken Sean Aitken

Director - IT Advisory
seanaitken@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5310

Perry Woolley Perry Woolley

Director - Project Advisory
pwoolley@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5960

Chris Dew Chris Dew

Partner - Advisory
cdew@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 363 3230

   
FINANCIAL RISK MANAGEMENT

Treasury risk management

Financial instruments accounting

Regulatory compliance

Forensics

  • Anti-money laundering
  • Dispute advisory services
  • Fraud risk management
 
Our government team

Godfrey Boyce Godfrey Boyce

Partner - Risk Consulting, Government & Financial Risk Management
gboyce@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4514

Treasury risk management
Ceri Horwill Ceri Horwill

Partner - Risk Consulting
cerihorwill@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5348

Financial instruments accounting
Regulatory compliance
Simon Cole Simon Cole

Associate Director - Advisory
simoncole@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4875

Treasury risk management
Financial instruments accounting
Michal Amzallag Michal Amzallag

Associate Director - Financial Risk Management
mamzallag@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 363 3218

Regulatory compliance
Chris Budge Chris Budge

Director - Forensics
cbudge@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4832

Forensics
TAX

Tax advisory

  • Reviewing and/or developing organisation-wide tax policies
  • Providing full tax advice on contemplated or completed transactions or restructures
  • Reviewing internal controls and tax systems for effectiveness and efficiency
  • Goods and Services Tax (GST) advice on one-off or unusual transactions
  • Assistance with or managing of Inland Revenue risk reviews or full scale tax audits

Tax compliance services

  • Preparation or review of tax returns filed (GST, FBT, PAYE, Income Tax, Withholding Tax)
  • Provision pre-IRD audit tax reviews to identify organisational tax risk hot spots
  • Advice on tax return filing or tax payment obligations
 
Our government team

Tony Joyce Tony Joyce

Partner - Tax
tjjoyce@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4512

John Cantin John Cantin

Partner - Tax
jfcantin@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4518

Matthew Gan Matthew Gan

Senior Manager - Tax mgan@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4779

   
AUDIT
Our government team

Graeme Edwards Graeme Edwards

Partner - Audit
gdedwards@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4522

Ian Proudfoot Ian Proudfoot

Partner - Audit
iproudfoot@kpmg.co.nz
+64 9 367 5882

Brent Manning Brent Manning

Partner - Audit bwmanning@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4513

Sonia Isaac Sonia Isaac

Director - Audit soniaisaac@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4670

PRIVATE ENTERPRISE

Advisory services

  • Reviewing and/or developing annual budget and cashflow forecasts
  • Reviewing and/or preparing financial information for Statements Of Intent & Business plans
  • Reviewing and/or developing organisation-wide finance policies
  • Finance process reviews

Accounting compliance services

  • Day-to-day accounting as an outsourced function
  • Preparing monthly, quarterly, interim and annual financial statements
  • Payroll services
 
Our government team

Angela Abernethy Angela Abernethy

Partner - Private Enterprise
aabernethy@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4511

Jon Holmes Jon Holmes

Partner - Private Enterprise
jsholmes@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4706

Jane Fletcher Jane Fletcher

Associate Director - Private Enterprise
jmfletcher@kpmg.co.nz
+64 4 816 4702

   

Centres of Excellence

To support our public sector clients, dedicated Global Centres of Excellence bring together deep experience and knowledge in specific areas of government business, including:

  • Defence
  • Education
  • Health and Social Services
  • Justice and Security
  • International Assistance (Aid)
  • Local Authorities
Souella Cumming

Souella Cumming

Head of Government

+64 4 816 4519


Government Thought Leadership