Canada - English

Getting Your CMA or CGA  

Getting your CMA/CGA designation is a challenging and rewarding process that KPMG will support you throughout. The relationships you form with your team will offer you the encouragement and motivation to continue on to getting your designation. Attaining your CMA /CGA are important steps in developing your skills and growing your career and we want to make sure that you have the support and resources you need to achieve your goals.

CMA/CGA Certification Programs


KPMG will help you on your path to obtaining your CMA/CGA designation and we support our people who are pursuing these professional designations. KPMG understands the process and requirements and ensures you have ample opportunity to succeed both in the work environment and also in your studies en route to your certification.


Compensation and Incentives

The following compensation and incentives are available to KPMG employees who are pursuing their CMA/CGA designations as part of KPMG’s People Matters programs:

  • Reimbursement of all tuition fees, costs and required materials
  • Study time off to ensure you are prepared for writing your exams
  • Earn $2,000 upon successful completion of your CMA/CGA designation


Practical Work Experience


Most importantly, KPMG further supports you on your way to eventual certification by providing work experience that meets the practical experience requirements for both designations.


Open Door Policy


KPMG has an open door policy. If you have any questions you need answered or need help with a particular problem, there is always a staff member available to help. We will connect you with those currently involved in the process or those who have recently completed the process to ensure you have all of the support you need to successfully accomplish your goal of attaining your CMA/CGA.


Certified Management Accounting (CMA) Certification Process

Certified General Accountant (CGA) Certification Process


Certified Management Accounting (CMA) Certification Process


CMAs undergo a rigorous and highly challenging accreditation process. To earn the CMA designation, prospective members must:


1) Complete a UNIVERSITY DEGREE and pre-requisites


3) Complete a two-year STRATEGIC LEADERSHIP PROGRAM while gaining Practical Experience


Entrance Examination


The Entrance Examination is a single-exam of four hours in length, which is made up of 100 to 120 questions. It consists exclusively of individual multiple-choice questions and problem-based groups of multiple-choice questions, i.e. several questions based on a common scenario. All questions are not weighted equally. Only once completing their University Degree and pre-requisites as well as successfully passing the Entrance Examination can a student enter the Strategic Leadership Program.


Strategic Leadership Program


The two-year Strategic Leadership Program has two phases – Development and Application – and is completed concurrent with full-time employment. Each phase has three modules and at the end of their first three modules candidates will write a Case Examination. The Case Examination is a four-hour examination which tests the candidate’s understanding of the competencies and higher order skills. This examination is offered twice a year – in May and September.


Only upon successful completion of the Case Examination for the Development phase can a candidate progress to the Application phase modules. Upon completion of the sixth and final module, groups of candidates will complete the Board Report. In the Board Report, candidates, in their groups, will demonstrate both orally and through a written submission that they have mastered the competencies applied throughout the program.


Certified General Accountant (CGA) Certification Process


To attain the CGA designation, candidates must successfully complete the following requirements:


1) Obtain a bachelor’s degree as well as complete the 19 required academic courses and associated examinations. These courses can either be satisfied through a CGA Association or by transfer of credits for studies completed at post-secondary institutions.

2)Successful completion of the Professional Applications and Competence Evaluations (PACE) level of the CGA Program

3) Satisfactory completion of a minimum of 24 months of practical work experience and assessments, more typically taking 36 months to complete


Professional Applications and Competence Evaluations (PACE)


At the PACE level, students choose one of four different career options (Corporate and Small-Medium Enterprise, Information Technology, Government and Not-For-Profit or Public Practice). Each career option contains two elective courses and each elective course has a four-hour certification examination. Exams at the PACE level are made up of multiple choice questions as well as integrative questions requiring written responses.


Once students have successfully completed their two certification examinations for the courses in their career option, all will be required to complete the capstone professional applications courses. These are PA1: Issues in Professional Practice and PA2: Strategic Financial Management.


PA1 requires the candidate to solve problems and address issues from the perspective of the accountant external to the organization providing assurance, tax, or business advisory services.


PA2 emphasizes competencies from financial accounting, management accounting, finance and information technology. These exams consist of multiple choice questions, short answer and short case-type questions as well as a comprehensive case analysis.

Campus Brochure

Be Social:


What's New?